A government’s role is only to provide defense capability and urban infrastructure (roads, water supplies, etc.…). All other services (education, health, social security, etc.) should be provided by private groups or individuals in the country.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Government can provide a limited range of services for citizens. Certain types of service, however, must be provided by governments, whereas both governments and private groups or individuals can share the responsibility to provide other services.

A government must provide those services which are essential to a country. These include defence capabilities and social security, which must not be left to private enterprises or individuals. Other services the government must provide are the infrastructure such as the road system in the city and protection of the environment.

On the other hand, some services could be provided by either governments or private groups or both. To ensure the quality and literacy of its citizens, the government must take the responsibility for the 9-year compulsory education and basic health care so that all citizens can have easy access to them. However, in tertiary education or part of health care, the private groups could get involved at some stage. Urban infrastructure is another area where governments and private groups or individuals can join efforts and share the responsibility. Governments must build and maintain a system of roads, but toll roads can be built and road maintenance carried out by private contractors. Similarly other infrastructure, such as water or electricity supply, can be operated by private companies.

To sum up, there are some services such as defence and social security which must be provided by governments. Other services, for example water supply or education, could be provided by both governments and private enterprises. Consequently, it is not true to say that a government’s role is only to provide some services while others should be provided by the private sector. In fact, both governments and private groups can share in the provision of most services.