Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life.

What do you think are the reasons for this?

Do the advantages of the trend outweigh the disadvantages?

These days it is a common practice for people to have children in their mid-thirties. They follow it owing to the various reasons. Certainly, at some level this is not encouraged by many however, there are a few advantages which cannot be ruled out. This essay will explain the reasons of this phenomenon and its merits.

In this competitive world, building a successful career has become a priority. Due to this, people spend more and more time making money, in the meantime, repressing their social responsibilities like reproduction. Another aspect leading to latter pregnancies is the advanced medical technologies. In-vitro fertilization techniques like test-tube babies or freezing eggs have eased the process of getting pregnant at any age. Unlike in the older time, women today can bear a child even in their fifties. However, these techniques are not always conclusive and sometimes may lead to depression and frustration among patients while going through painful, lengthy and ineffectual procedures.

On the other hand, there are some pros to keep in mind. Firstly, at the later age people will become financially stable owing to their high-paying jobs. This money would provide them with the better opportunities to take care of their infant’s needs. Secondly, as a person ages his level of maturity and understanding also increases. He will be able to take care of his child in a much better way compared to a impoverished young parent. Overall, children backed-up with a strong financial and mental support will grow-up to become a healthy and a happy human being.

In conclusion, despite facing the difficulties of child-bearing in later life, peoples still follow this trend. This is because, they are adamant to provide their children with an environment where they do not have to compromise on wealth or psychological aspect in their life.