Many historical sites and museums are mainly visited by tourists, not local people.

Why is this the case?

What can be done to attract local people to visit these historical sites and museums?

The main visitors of a heritage site or a museum are always the tourists and seldom a local resident. In this essay, reasons for this phenomenon will be analyzed and relevant solutions to encourage locals for such visits will be provided as well.

It is obvious that historical sites are often considered boring and time consuming places. Specifically, the galleries filled with old insignificant pieces of art and history. The people residing in its vicinity are very well aware of the associated facts and myths. As a result, they avoid going to these places. Another factor to consider is a walk in a museum takes up a lot of time. Generally, local residents see tourism as a source of income. So they are not concerned about visiting same place again and again. Rather they would cater to the need of tourists so that they could earn some money.

On the basis of the above reasoning, comprehensive solutions have been identified. The first solution is reinforcing the rule to allow free entry for locals to visit these places. For instance, at Sun Temple, Modhera the ticket for entering is costly for foreigners however, a nominal rate is charged for Indians. This has drastically increased the visitors in a past few years. The next solution is educating the general public. To be more specific, it is time for government to generate awareness among people to know their own heritage places. The community should promote the significance of their cultural sites. Apparently, these measures will significantly promulgate the importance of such places.

In conclusion, various reasons have given rise to a fewer visits to museums and historical sites. Nevertheless, I firmly believe that steps such as mandating a small entry fee and raising awareness in regards to the importance of these sites must be taken to tackle the worrisome situation.