In many countries traditional customs are being lost. Why do you think this is? What can parents and schools do to keep traditional customs alive?

Modernization had ruined the nuance of a diverse society. It is evident that, traditional cultures are losing their importance with each passing day. This essay will discuss reasons as to why this is happening and what inputs parents and schools can provide to deal with this issue.

Although, traditions play vital part in diverse countries like India, their significance has reduced extremely, owing to the influence of western culture. People today are keen on adapting foreign lifestyle. They want to wear clothes of famous brand, eat food from franchise existing all over the world and even converse in language English which is universally acceptable. More students today, for example, are choosing academics with international languages rather than learning their own mother tongue, resulting in a gradual downfall of the population speaking regional language. Because of this, local traditions and indigenous way of living are compromised.

Nevertheless, parents and teachers should co-ordinate with each other and teach children the value of their customs. Schools can arrange different functions during festivals and encourage students to dress-up in traditional attire or engage in competitions like folk dancing. On the other hand, parents should preach their child about cultural beliefs and family traditions. For example, one of my friends is Bengali and her parents make sure that she always attends the Durga Puja celebrations during the festival of Navratri as it is a crucial religious custom followed by their ancestors every year. Such initiative will have powerful impositions on young minds and persuade them to indulge in ethnicity.

In conclusion, despite a nose dive is being observed in followers of traditional customs, a gradual increase can be achieved through joint venture of parents and schools in keeping them alive. In my opinion, a mutual effort is a must to preserve the richness of a country’s heritage.