It is sometimes said that people should be encouraged to get married before they are 30, as this is best both individual as well as society. Do you agree or disagree?

Marriage is the key aspect that impacts a person’s life drastically. It has been suggested, that an individual should get married before the age of 30 for their own good and betterment of the society. However, I disagree with the statement and this essay will discuss my opinion further in detail.

Firstly, people in their twenties should focus primarily on building their careers. Clearly, a college graduate is keen on finding a suitable job as he or she is filled with energy and enthusiasm to take up a job rather than opting for marriage at early stages of life. Following this, a person would be able to work hard without any familial interference. Consequently, he will be financially strong enough to support and nurture his family. Therefore, it is highly recommended to first concentrate on economical aspect of life.

Secondly, at this young age, men and women tend to lack enough maturity to handle relationships and struggles of family life. In addition, if couples are coerced to courtship in such circumstances, it may lead to unprecedented separations owing to their naïve nature. For instance, a recent study shows that in India where couples are married at young age, there is a 20% surge in divorce rates in past few years. Because of this, more and adults will be living alone, triggering a society filled with depressed and frustrated grown-ups.

Lastly, women in their twenties are encouraged to give birth to avoid potential health complications. However, the advancements in current medical sciences have made this reason invalid. Thus, engaging in early wedlock because of this reason seems illogical.

In conclusion, not only does settling down early affect the society, but it also has negative impact on individual and so, I am strongly against youngsters getting married before they turn thirty.