International tourism has brought enormous benefits to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment.

Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Tourism industry has flourished immensely within few years. Undoubtedly, a surge in trips across the world has contributed these places a lot, but a raising distress among residents regarding their homeland and surroundings has come to light recently. This essay will discuss various pros and cons of this trend and provide a conclusion in the end.

International tourism offers a lot of benefits. Firstly, development of rural area is an collateral advantage, particularly when a tourist place in under development. Secondly, there are certain places, whose only source of income is tourism. For instance, a hillstation Manali in India is unsuitable of any business setup, but the location has mesemerizing view and an amicable whether which often attracts visitors. As a result, the demand in hotels, restaurants and other places of entertainment for tourists will rise in these regions which in turn would contribute indirectly to the economy of the country. Thus, it becomes the silver bullet to earn from foreign finances.

On the other hand, it is inevitable to avoid the harmful impacts of the trip on local community and their villages. In certain scenarios, it is observed that the people have to suffer disrespect of their culture and traditions because of few notorious visitors. In addition, these backpackers and hikers are less likely to be concerned about cleanliness and spread rubbish on their way to heritage places, which compromises the beauty of the locations.

All in all, i think that despite some negative impacts, the merits of international tourism are far more compared to its demerits and so i completely disagree with the notion that the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages.