International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Financial benefits will accrue from international tourism. Despite, it cause adverse effect on locals due to cultural differences and it also disturbs the eco system. In my opinion, I strongly believe that advantages of tourism are eclipsed by its disadvantages.

To start with, the prime benefit of tourism is generation of income in the country. Admittedly, tourist from around the world visit the country to enjoy picturesque view, experience the culture, authentic food, traditional music, and spectate modern and historic buildings. All these experiences have cost which tourist spend on the country. As a result, variety of local businesses of art s, crafts, and hoteling also promotes and income earned from these small scale industries are capitalized by governments in the form of taxes which eventually be ploughed backed in economy. Hence, tourism generates financial benefits for the local businesses and economy as a whole.

On contrary to this, the obvious disadvantage of tourism is impact on local residents because of difference of culture which might bring negative consequences between locals and tourists. For instance, Saudi Arabia is stringent with the rules that girls going out of their home should wear hijab and cover their head. However, this trend is not followed in western countries like Europe, USA and Canada. Therefore, there are greater possibilities that local dislikes tourist and might retaliate to this, with worst repercussions.

Another disadvantage which cannot be neglected is the destruction of eco system which means that in order to develop tourist attractions government deforests the area, construct shopping malls and hotels in order to accommodate the tourist and provide them the best experience. Undoubtedly, mega construction increases the environmental challenges and pollution. Goa in India, is well known beach which is being visited by thousands of tourist each year but for decades the ratio has been declined considering the fact that due to construction of various hotels and deforestation, the pollution in the region has substantially increased that not only impacts locals but tourist as well.

To conclude, the advantage of revenue generation by tourism industry is overshadowed by the disadvantages due to clashes between locals and tourists and deleterious effects on environment.