International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is undeniable that due to the influence of social media, the tourism industry experienced exponential growth. Owing to innovation and development in technology, it has become relatively easy and convenient to travel. Interestingly, the surge in international tourism has brought enormous benefits to many places, but people argue its impact on the local inhabitants and surroundings.

Firstly, the demand for tourism has brought in many making opportunities for the local community. Secondly, Industrialisation is not possible at every place due to geographical conditions, like Jammu and Kashmir; but such places are attractive for travelling. The island in Indonesia, Bali, is well-known globally for its beaches and water sports. Development of such places depends on the funds earned from tourism. Thirdly, when people travel from places to places, then only we can understand the cultural differences.

Nevertheless, an intense rise in the number of travellers has caused a detrimental effect on the environment and local population. Many people prefer staying or visiting the countryside for a serene environment; instead, it has become the opposite. Moreover, people visiting the remote places leave behind the carbon footprints causing a detrimental effect to the environment. Additionally, the plastic waste and one-time use products have increased to fulfil tourist demands; the plethora of toxic waste generated is difficult to decompose.

One of the famous tourist places in India is Goa. Lakhs of people travel yearly to enjoy vacation, parties and water sports. More than seventy-five per cent of the population in this city is tourism depended for livelihood. It has recently been noticed; the water is getting polluted because of waste dumped into the beaches. Consequently, marine life is affected, depreciating the fishing industry.

In my opinion, the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the benefits of it. Strict laws must be made to protect the environment and heritage of the nation. The hefty fine must be imposed for breaking the laws. If this continues, global warming could be more significant, affecting future generations.