In many countries around the world, life expectancy is increasing. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this situation and give your opinion.

There has been a drastic lifestyle changes among people over the few decades. Owing to this, there has been a surge in life expectancy around the globe in most of the nations. It has both upsides and downsides and in this essay I will discuss them. Overall, I think the disadvantages outweigh the advantages.

One obvious negative effect of this is the skyrocketing population. Undoubtedly, the increased number of senior citizens is troublesome for the government. The government is liable to provide pension, health insurance and various benefits to the elderly resulting in a schism in the funds which might have been used for the betterment of the future generations. For instance, in densely populated countries like India, the government often fails to provide basic healthcare and education due to overcrowding.

Another major disadvantage is reduced job opportunities. The older people need money and consequently have to do some work to pay off their bills. Hence, there is shortage of career opportunities for youngsters and thus creating a society of unemployed graduates.

On the plus side, there are two social merits that long life span can offer. First, for the elderly, as they can enjoy the company of loved ones for longer time which would help in building memories which could be cherished in future. Second, for the family members, who can benefit from the knowledge and wisdom of their old people; they can seek guidance throughout life aspects. For example, children often ask advice from their grandparents for importance life decisions.

In conclusion, weighing up both sides of argument, I would say that despite longevity have a few merits, its demerits are hard to ignore.