In many countries paying things using mobile phone apps is becoming increasingly common.

Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

In an current era of digitalization, payments via mobile apps is getting more popular. There are several pros and cons of this trend, but I believe benefits are certainly more than the drawbacks.

First of all, the biggest advantage of using mobile apps in the convenience of the users. Mobile apps have transformed the way of sending and receiving money around the world. People used to send money via banks, after standing in queue for some time, can now send money to their family and friends in a blink of an eye using their mobile apps. For example, esypaisa app in Pakistan has revolutionized the money transfer ways locally. People can send and receive payments while living in the remote areas where bank branches were even not available.

Moreover, online apps have made it easier to purchase items without the need of going to the store. Famous online stores like Aliexpress have apps by which users can purchase items and pay the bills using the same app. Mobile apps payment has given birth to whole mega industry of e-commerce where big store are getting online and are accessible through mobile apps.

Furthermore, payments using mobile apps has impacted the daily life as well in a positive manner. It is possible for users to pay the shopkeeprs or vendors using mobile apps and we do not have to worry about having enough cash all the time. For example, I used to collect the rent of my shops while visiting shops one by one and still there could be someone missing at that time. However, with these apps, everyone can send rents as per their convenience and availability.

There are some risks involved as well when we are using apps. There has been several attacks to hack the apps so that money and personal data can be used. It has also been reported credentials for using apps was compromised and user are left with their empty accounts. Users are compensated eventually, but this brings a lot of stress for the end users. There is a need to strengthen app security measures.

In the conclusion, I would say that paying via apps have transformed the whole payment industry in the very positive way. Payments has never been so convenient in the past. There are some risks of mobile apps usage but they are manageable. So, I believe pros of mobile apps for payment are way more than the cons.