In many countries paying for things using mobile phone cellphone apps is become increasingly common Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages

Technology, which is a burgeoning at an unprecedented rate, has revolutionised every aspect of life especially payments. Consumers of the majority of nations prefer paying via the applications like Google pay, PhonePe, to name but a few which are installed in their phones. The benefits of this, without any doubt, are far more than its demerits. This essay, in the forthcoming paragraphs, will elucidate the same.

To commence with the merits of paying through phone are multifarious. First of all, it is more convenient than providing cash while purchasing anything. This is because there is no need to carry cash as through Paytm, Google pay, etcetera, amount can be paid. To cite an example, during hikes or camping, individuals find it difficult to carry a purse with money in it, thereby prefer digital method of payment. Apart from this it is faster in lieu of the conventional method, since one can pay by just scanning the QR code placed at every nook and cranny of the shops, instead of opening a wallet, counting the money and then waiting for the remaining money to receive back. For instance, if an item is of Rs.16 the shopkeeper usually takes 2 to 3 minutes to provide customer the change. Paying digitally, thus, is better.

On the contrary, is it completely safe? Definitely not, as the bank account of an individual would easily be emptied, if someone gets to know the passwords of the payment applications. For example, a lot of cases are reported every day in India, where while doing transaction is the passwords are copied by the person standing beside a consumer, resulting in hacking their bank accounts and transferring the money to their accounts. However, this problem can be handled by being a little cautious and aware about the surroundings. Hence, money can be taken out by wrongdoers by using such apps.

To conclude, although sometimes the bank accounts can be hacked, if security passwords are known to the burglars, paying digitally has advantages more like it is less time consuming and more convenient.