Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

People’s opinions differ as to whether advertising succeeds in boosting sales or not. Numerous people assert that the omnipresence of advertisements leads to the public’s careless attitude toward them. However, brand new forms of advertising such as collaborating with celebrities or reviewers are still efficient in increasing consumerism.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why people get fed up with advertisements. Firstly, due to the prevalence of advertisements, many national televisions have witnessed a dive in viewers. This is evident in the case of Vietnam's national TV channels. In recent years, the number of people watching these channels has dropped by about 124%, and most of those said that the main motive behind this was because there were always so many advertisements, which considerably deteriorated their watching experiences. This clearly shows that promoting is excessively ubiquitous, leading to widespread indifference from the multitudes. Moreover, traditional advertising forms are no longer attractive and persuasive to buyers. For instance, leaflets and posters are considered old-fashioned and they often end up in rubbish bins without bringing about any profit.

On the other hand, there appears a host of modern, creative and effective forms of advertising that fruitfully capture viewers’ attention. The most influential and profitable way recently is collaborations with world-class celebrities. The upturn in sales of Dior - a luxury brand exemplifies this precisely. In 2018, this brand announced Jisoo from Blackpink as its global ambassador and as a result, its profit has increased by nearly 300% so far. Another trendy form of promotion is to hire reviewers, KOLs or KOCs. These three terms refer to people with a considerable number of followers on social media, and their jobs are to share their feelings toward a product as users. Through this way, viewers often find their words reliable and accordingly, be more willing to buy the promoted products.

To sum up, despite a plunge in interest in traditional advertisements, it is irrefutable that advertising still plays an instrumental role in boosting sales for businesses. However, I believe that the quality of the products is of utmost importance when it comes to persuading customers to purchase things, therefore companies should put this their first priority instead of putting an overly strong emphasis on promoting.