Nowadays many people choose to be self employed rather than to work for a company or organization Why might this be the case What could be the disadvantages of being self employed

In this day and era, self-employment has been becoming the norm and more and more workers prefer it to being an employee at a company or organisation. In this essay, I will outlist the reasons for this phenomenon and its potential drawbacks.

There are numerous factors leading to the popularity of self-employment. Firstly, of the most importance, the aid of the Internet and social media’s huge international influence. Along with the rapid development of those, a myriad of new jobs have appeared, such as KOLs, Tiktoker, Youtuber, Influencer, Digital Marketer, etc, which provides people a considerable number of career potentials. Secondly, nowadays, young generations usually prefer a comfortable, mobile work environment to boost their creativity. Instead of a fixed nine-to-five work frame and workforce, self-employed workers can start their work whenever and switch up environments between home, cafes, or even on the go. As a result, they have more freedom and ideas, which is believed to foster productivity to some extent.

However, there also exists some disadvantages of working as a freelancer. The first of which is unstable income. While staffs in a company receive a particular monthly or annual salary, freelancers' income tends to fluctuate due to a wide range of external factors, for example, number of orders, a lack of creativity, etc. Moreover, working from home is not as effortless as the majority of the public expect. In contrast, it requires a high level of self-discipline and the ability to handle everything alone. At a corporation or organisation, an employee is being constantly reminded of their deadlines and able to get immediate assistance if they need, whereas a person who is self-employed has to manage their own selves without any aid from other colleagues. Therefore, multiple people drop their occupation as freelancers after a short period of time.

In conclusion, self-employment has its pros and cons and if a person wants to choose it, then he should be mentally prepared for a fluctuating amount of money he may earn and various characteristics to address everything reasonably alone. Unless he got it all, it would be likely that he cannot maintain the career in the long run.