In some countries people are now buying fewer new things and buying more second hand things instead In your opinion what are some possible reasons for this Is this a positive or negative trend

Reusing commodities instead of purchasing new ones is a global trend nowadays. This phenomenon certainly has more advantages than disadvantages, which will be discussed in this essay, making it a positive development.

First of all, by using second-hand items, there has been a huge impact on consumerism. In today's world where everyone is a victim of markets, reusing things has helped us to get out of this consumerist society. Secondly, using refurbished commodities has the biggest positive impact on the environment. The less the people dump the used items, the lesser the environment is damaged. It helps to make the surroundings clean. This is evident from an article published in The New York times in 2017, which stated that when people started to reutilize things, the amount pollution went down remarkably, about 60 percent. Moreover, it helps people to save money and spend it on the things that actually have some significance, rather than just wasting on buying newer products.

Despite all those pros, using second-hand items has few unignorable drawbacks. When people buy less new items, markets may collapse. This can lead to a huge economical loss at national level. There might also be the case that factories cease to make any innovation or improvements in products. Furthermore, second-hand items have no warranty, so, if any product is found damaged, it might not be changed. Reused products often have less reliability than the newer ones and might have less working life.

To summarise, although there are few cons of this trend, yet the advantages are much more in number and significance. Thus, it can be concluded that usage of second-hand things is a positive trend.