Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons ehy someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Language is the key to express one's emotions and the more languages a person knows, the more convenient it is for him to commune with strangers or even with friends. Some people hold the opinion that to learn a foreign language is a skill only needed for foreign tours or to get employed abroad . As far as my opinion is concerned, ability to speak and understand exotic languages do have other benefits as well.

This essay will review both the sides and use examples from a survey performed by an International travel agency (ITA), Massachusetts and from Cambridge university.

Ability to speak various languages is desired by almost every multinational company and to get a prominent and respectful post in any such organization, this skill is of utmost value. Moreover, with the advent of internet and technology, more and more people are getting into the profession of video blogging, that means uploading dalily life activities on social media platforms. According to survey conducted by ITA, over 70% of people travelling to other countires have the only motive of making videos and clicking pictures, so as to gain more followers. Accordingly, if influencers know the languages of the countries they are travelling to, it would also serve as a means of making money.

Besides from these benefits, language learning have other impacts as well. Taking into consideration a report published by Cambridge university, students who could understand many languages were more efficient at problem solving skills such as riddles and puzzles. They were also brilliant in other fields, such as remembering dates of important events in the past and had an excellent leadership qualities. Moreover, they had stupendous morals of public behaviour, all these contribute to additional benefits of mastering foreign languages.

To conclude, from the arguments and examples given, I firmly advocate the notion that learning a foreign language has innumerable benefits besides travelling and working. It is therefore advantageous to include this activity in academic curiculum or in extra classes.