Some children spend hours everyday on their smartphones.why? Do you think this is a positive or negative trend?

The use of smartphones has burgeoned over the last few years and mostly children fall prey to their addiction. There are many reasons behind this phenomenon which will be discussed in this essay thoroughly along with its consequences before concluding that this is a negative trend.

The prime reason behind overuse of smartphones is that they are extremely addictive. Once a child starts using it, it becomes nearly impossible to leave it. Digital games attributes to this addiction. Nowadays, the graphics of mobile games have improved remarkably which captivates children. Moreover, after the Covid pandemic, almost all of the schools shifted to online classrooms. As a result, a child gets cut off from the real school environment and have to spend hours on online classes.

This trend has many detrimental effects on a child's health. Having spent a lot of time on the screen, child's eyesight deteriorates. According to the US department of Children's education, after the advent of online schooling, more than 60% children started to have sight related problems. Furthermore, in lieu of playing outside having physical sports experience, they spent their leisure time by playing video games. Apart from effects on eyesight, their physical heath also worsens. Also, they become isolated from the family and are not able to express their emotions freely.

It is true that smartphones made it much more convenient to be connected to everyone, but this advantage came at a price. Children actually gets cut off from their family and friends as they tend to be always busy in the virtual world.

In conclusion, the practice of excessive use of smartphones should be abandoned. Schools, families and government authorities certainly have to work together to bring this change.