In some countries, secondary schools aim to provide a general education across arange of subjects. In others, children focus on a narrow range of subjects related to a particular career. For today’s world, which system is appropriate?

An education system is one of the most crucial systems across all over the world and no country is untouched by this fact. Though different countries use different methods of education, all of them are behind are one single goal which is; to provide the best education possible to its citizens. On the one hand, many nations find it suitable to provide knowledge of different subjects during pupils’ secondary education. One the other hand, others include only a few subjects so that students’ could concentrate only on one type of education and pursue their careers accordingly. This essay will provide an insight into the positive and negative impacts of both views and will produce a conclusion as per my understanding.

Firstly, an ideal education system consists of various ranges of subjects in a balanced manner. As curriculum during secondary classes in vast and includes multiple subjects, sometimes many students can’t relate the necessity of studying a subject which they are not interested in.

Hence, I believe, an education system should be such, where choices of the students could be respected. For instance, I consider the Indian education system as balanced and ideal system as it consists of necessary subjects and students' choices. If a student isn’t interested in studying subject Math, then he could go for the subject stream of Commerce.

Next, if students are forced to study various uninterested subject, this would lead them to the boredom which will eventually affect their overall learning performance. Though I agree to the extent that students should have practical knowledge as well as skills but including the unrelated subjects will undoubtedly lead the students to downhill.

In essence, different countries use distinct methods of teaching in their schools. They prepare the course books for different levels after an extensive research and investing a huge amount of time. However, the educationalist should ensure that coursebooks are as per the students’ interests, so that they don’t have to study any unnecessary subjects.