Computer technologies are more accessible and cheaper, as the result, more adults’ work at home and children study at home. Is this a positive or negative development?

In this era of technological advancements, people are now embracing different technologies more than ever. Technology is being used to work from home as well as for study purposes nowadays. Even though, it is a convenience to study or work from home it also has harmful effects on people’s lives.

Firstly, many organizations around the world provide the facility to their officials to work from home. The intention to provide such a facility is that a colleague will work more efficiently and productively from home. However, it may not always be a situation as many of them just log into their systems and watch television. Apart from that, working from home makes workers lazy and physical inactivity leads to health conditions such as obesity and heart diseases.

Next, even though students can use computers and online classes to study from home, technology cannot provide actual human interaction. For instance, a student can ask a question directly to a teacher in a classroom. However, while taking a class online he may have to wait at the end of the lesson or type a question that may be ignored. Hence, technology can be used for learning purposes but it cannot be an alternative to the classrooms.

Lastly, though technology cannot replace classrooms or workplaces, it can still be used in an effective way when natural calamities take place and people are unable to go out of their homes. In fact, computers and other gadgets should be used to attend classes or to finish official work from home in case of such happenings.

In essence, different technologies have become a part of people’s lives and their significance cannot be ruled out. However, while attending classes or working; human interaction is one of the most crucial factors, which shouldn’t be avoided either. Technology should be used to make people more efficient rather than to be used as a luxury.