In some countries, secondary schools aim to provide a general education across a range of subjects. In others, children focus on a narrow range of subjects related to a particular career. For today's world, which system is appropriate?

It is a highly debated issue whether students should study many subjects or only a few subjects. Both systems have their own merits. The answer depends on the students‘interests and the goals of their studies and the country‘s requirement.

There are many advantages of a broad range of subjects. To begin with, a broad range of subjects would provide a well rounded education which is very important for the holistic development of the students. In addition, students could find out what their real interests are as they would be exposed to a variety of fields of study. Just after passing out of high school students really don‘t know what they would be good at. So, if they have to make decisions at that time, they would be guided by their peers or parents. If they make a wrong decision at that time then they may drop out of school or end up with low grades.

Moreover, it is ideal for those students who have many interests. They will pursue education for education sake and not just learn a trade. Consequently, when they try to find out job after graduation, their versatility will allow them to apply for a wider range of jobs.

On the other hand, there are many advantages of studying a narrow range of subjects. Such courses are basically vocational in nature. Such students find it easy to find a job in their specific field of study. Naturally, companies will be more interested in job applicants who have superior knowledge and so can make better contributions. What is more, these students enter the job market earlier and start earning. This helps them to support their families. This also allows students to focus on their interest and the subject relevant to them. A physics or chemistry student may feel out of place if he has to study ancient poetry or western literature. Finally, such students have lesser burden and so more time for hobbies.

To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that, both systems have their own merits. So it depends on students‘choice and needs of the country. One size fits all approach cannot be applied to today‘s world.