Some people think high school graduates should travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to study at university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both approaches.

It is quite common these days for young people in many countries to have a break from studying after graduating from high school. It has become the topic of controversy as majority of people holds the view point that joining university immediately after schooling is better option for success. Others, however, opine having a break provides opportunity to see the world and try new skills after finishing school. This essay shed light on both views.

To begin with, there are several reasons for this trend. Firstly, it provides opportunity to young adult to mingle up with society and build up many qualities. To explain, such experiences teach self dependence, instill confidence and patience which school education fails to develop. Secondly, it makes children aware of their interests, strengths and weaknesses, and later choose better field for higher education. For example, a student can get his management skills tested while working as assistant manager at job. Consequently, avoids mistake of choosing wrong field.

However, there are certainly dangers in taking time off at that important age. Young adults may end up never returning to their studies or finding it difficult to re-adapt to an academic environment. In other words, students become lethargic and lose interest in studies. Moreover, immature students are prone to get attracted to minor earnings which are bad for future prospects. Thus, a talented learner is bound to a wage worker in lure of money.

To recapitulate, young people should be encouraged to broaden their horizons. Choice of the person decides his career, so time should not be wasted in parties or entertainment. Giving some time to know self interests are beneficial before deciding the further education.