In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

Today, citizens have adopted a habit to go to shopping centers based on the outskirts, therefore, many smaller stores in the urban areas are on the brink of bankruptcy. Despite several drawbacks presented along the scheme, I insist that the merits of this are more impactful than the shortcomings.

On the one hand, negative effects of out-of-town stores consist of environmental and economic problems. The first hardship is that it could cause significant damage to a city’s economy. If habitants no longer prefer to go shopping in the central shops, these shops are easily exposed with closure. Consequently, huge numbers of workers are likely to lose their occupations. Moreover, increased bankruptcies among small town-center shops put the locals in considerable inconvenience, primarily those not in possession of a private car standing on the most affects. As a result, a rise in car usage for the demand of travelling long distances is apparent, therefore cause critical environmental issues such as contaminated water source and infected soil due to vehicles’ gas emission.

On the other hand, the large shops which are out of town can bring numerous positive impacts to both the rural and metropolitan areas. First to mention, out-of-town stores presents career paths for the local of the outskirts. Thus, people have boosted living conditions relying on better income from jobs in the shopping malls. For instance, in the span of a decade, Ha Donghas developed from a poorly advanced area to a top valued habitat owing to the establishment of modern-day mega malls. Secondly, such changes in people’s shopping habit and preference encourage a move to out-of-city area for settlement. Lastly, various metropolises, including Hanoi or Ho Chi Minh City have been dealing with the dramatic growth in population number. In consequence, residents’ move to the outskirts helps to reduce the pressure on not only housing systems but also the traffic congestion.

In conclusion, although the trend of shopping in larger stores located far away from the city centrals have several negative effects, I would argue that the favorable aspects of this trend outweigh the adverse ones on behalf of the stores’ ability to help solve some problems in the modern cities.