In some countries, teenagers are allowed to do part-time jobs. Some people think it is a good thing but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent years, there has been a significant increase in the number of teenage temporary employees. While optimists view the trend as a societal development, critics believe it may accompany many drawbacks. In my view, working while studying is necessary to teenage students as long as careful supervision and guidance are provided by their families and schools.

In the one hand, it is argued that obtaining a paid job provides students with a number of benefits. Firstly, these youngsters have greater chances to gain real-life experiences, which bring them much more precious and practical values than any lessons at schools can. Indeed, by taking on duties at work, students are able to practice communicating in working environments, sharpen their problem-solving skills, raise self-awareness, as well as broaden their perspectives in life. Secondly, to students coming from lower class families, part-time employment is the best solution for their financial problems. A paid job after school can cover tuition fees, daily allowance, which allows them to pursue their academic pathway and alleviate non-academic burdens.

On the other hand, criticisms against working part time often stem from the concern that young undergraduates are possibly unable to maintain the work-study balance. In a great deal of recent research on the issue, there have been increasingly high proportions of students who drop out from schools due to working reasons. Moreover, it is reported that a sizable majority of undergraduates admit that they frequently lose much of their concentration on in-class lectures after long working hours.

In conclusion, students should be encouraged to expose themselves to the working life as a practical way to be well prepared for their future careers. However, I am convinced that this is only beneficial only when thorough guidance is provided by school authority and families so that students can manage learning and working time.