In some countries today, many people decide to have their first child when they are older. What are the reasons? Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In some regions, many adults choose to have their first child when they become older. This essay will list the reasons for this phenomenon and explain why its disadvantages outweigh.

There are two reasons that cause some individuals to delay pregnancy until they are older. The first cause is due to women and men prioritizing their careers instead of becoming parents early. In some countries such as Japan, one of the most common reasons for couples to delay having a child until they become older is that they want to stabilize their careers and finances to prepare the best conditions for their children. Another factor is due to some people’s uncertainty about parental roles. Some young women and men might feel confused when considering having a child since there are many concerns and responsibilities for them to take. Consequently, this confusion might lead to the fear of not taking good care of their children, thereby making some couples choose to have a child at an older age.

Although this phenomenon has its benefits, I believe that its drawbacks have more impact. Delayed pregnancy is thought to allow parents to prepare financially and mentally for parenthood and provide their children with a so-called fulfilled life. However, these benefits cannot be as serious as a health threat to both mothers and children. Delayed pregnancy can increase maternal mortality rates and newborn babies’ susceptibility to Down syndrome. Moreover, it can lead to a generation gap between parents and children in life as they might find it difficult to catch up with their children’s lively activities due to old age or have conflicting opinions with their children due to different ways of thinking. This gap might lead to children suffering mentally as they cannot communicate or play freely with their parents.

In conclusion, priority for career and uncertainty before parenthood are the factors that prevent people from having a child at an early age. Moreover, I think that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages since they can cause health threats during gestation and a generation gap that worsens the relationship in the family.