In some countries young people are encouraged to work and travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Dicuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

It is quite common these days for high school graduates in many countries who would like to take a gap year to have a part-time job or travel for preparing before attending university. Despite some disadvantages for this trend, I do believe that the advantages can outweigh these drawbacks.

On the one hand, there are a number of major drawbacks when the young teenagers have a break from studying after graduating from their high school. A serious drawback is lacking of academic knowledge which is important at universities. In some cases, the value of money attracts their earning money aspiration. This means that they insist on working and consider that they do not need to go to university because they are economically independent. But they are no longer like that because of their future needs more than what are they doing now. Besides, some may work for a job which is not related to their main major at university. It is really dangerous for their academic studies after taking a gap year.

On the other hand, I believe that taking time off after finishing their high school studies is the best way to improve and develop the personal resources. Needless to say that the students who spend a year working or travelling will have a broader view of life, prepare a beautiful profile for themselves and acquire some valuable experiences if they certainly decide what would they have to do. Students apparently have an advantage in terms of coping with challenges in academic studying process and easily get and understand the academic qualifications from their practical experiences.

It is necessary for high school graduated students to have a break before attending university. Students should have worked or travelled for their knowledge not for the value of money. As long as they think carefully, make a clear decision and have a particular plan, the good results will happen.