In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing
high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young
people who decide to do this.
In various nations around the world, many people advocate taking a gap year in order to work
or travel before beginning one’s tertiary education. While this offers a few advantages, there
are also some disadvantages which are worth considering.
There are two main benefits to students travelling or working before their university
education. Firstly, through travelling, they will be able to expand their horizons. When
students go overseas, they will be exposed to different cultures and customs. As a result, they
will gain a deeper understanding of the world. In addition, students who work will learn to
appreciate the value of money. This is because they will realize the hard work involved in
earning money. Consequently, they would think more before purchasing anything they desire
and may become less impulsive in their spending.
On the other hand, various drawbacks may be noted. In the first place, travelling could cause
people to feel homesick. Many students have not been apart from their family and friends
before so when they travel, they may miss these people. In extreme circumstances, students
may even become depressed. Additionally, students who work may not want to return to their
studies. The reason for this is that they may enjoy earning money and becoming financially
independent. Therefore, their whole future could be negatively affected as these days it is
very important for everyone to graduate with a degree in order to be competitive in the job
market.
In conclusion, if students take a gap year, they could gain invaluable experience and learn to
become more independent in relation to money. However, they may also become homesick
and end up not continuing their studies. Therefore, it is necessary to weigh the benefits
against the drawbacks carefully before coming to a decision as to whether students should go
on such an adventure.