In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Following the fast-paced life, nowadays, there is a new trend of students orientation. Some assert that students should spend a gap year after finishing high school for experiencing new things before attending colleges or universities. In my opinion, that is definitely a highly recommended choice that brings benefits.

First, looking at how tired are the students after twelve years of studying constantly and barely have time off. So absolutely it is a great idea to award themselves their precious free time to do things that they have always dreamt of but did not have enough time to focus on. For instance, a recently graduated high school student can set up a journey to another continent or applying for a part-time job to experience and discover new things. Moreover, this valuable one year can give students potential opportunities. For example, a student can find out their real passion, what they truly want to do in their life and from then properly choose the right career path.

On the contrary, this trendy decision has its downsides. It may lead students to the state of over-enjoying and then abandon their future afterward. Free time does not literally mean that they can spend a lot of money on vacations, shopping, parties which lead them to negative lifestyles. For example, a student after a whole year of enjoying a luxurious environment will virtually get lost and does not know what they are actually looking for which is the most dangerous status of a teenager.

All in all, taking a gap year is completely efficient for students to gain more experience and find their true passion. Parallel to that, students have to really control themselves not to be fallen behind after a whole year turning off the studying mode.