In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this

Some teenagers are recommended to take a gap year between graduating from high school and starting higher education in some nations. This trend would create both merits and demerits

On the one hand, a gap year would create a great number of benefits. Since we do not have to spend much money on gasoline costs as well as learning courses, financial burden of higher education could be eliminated to some extent. As a result, we appear to save a great amount of money and could use that amount of money for other things.To exemplify this point, my brother, who takes a gap year to refresh himself after years of studying saved ten thousand Vietnam Dong. After that, he runs a business himself and earned a stable salary

On the other hand, there are still some drawbacks of a gap year. A gap year is often so relaxing and enjoyable that pupils may give up further studies. As a consequence, they might be bored with their study and could neglect it, which would have an adverse impact on their study performance in the long run. Moreover, a gap year seems to be quite expensive to individuals who have unstable family backgrounds. They might encounter myriad of obstacles when taking a gap year since the gap year cost is not always affordably priced. Admittedly, a gap year would offer many advantages to people. But it is not always good to take a gap year unless you are truly in need of it.

For all the aforementioned reasons, I still believe that the merits of a gap year outweigh the demerits