In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

ANSWER:

In many nations, the young are advised to get a job or make a journey in a year after leaving high school. It is, therefore, essential to investigate both the advantages and disadvantages of this issue equally.

On the one hand, using a gap year for job or traveling offers several benefits. Firstly, one common benefit which considered is working as well as going a trip may help young people to obtain a lot of real experience and skills in their life. They will be more mature and independent on their decisions. In addition, one positive point of this problem that should not ignored here is working or going for a tour after graduating will be able to support the young to have an oriented choice in their profession. Therefore, they will have good opportunities to progress rapidly in their career.

However, if people look at other different angles of the problem, it contains some weaknesses. Above all, the point which is generally acknowledged is that young people who uses their gap year will be late to start to work in their field. As a result, they may success or be promoted later compared with others. Furthermore, there are a lot of difficulties and risks that the young may have to suffer from their job as well as their trip, because they are so young and not mature enough yet.

In conclusion, everything has two sides and this issue is not an exception. Working or traveling right after finishing high school brings not only strong points but also unexpected drawbacks.