In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

some people believe that youngsters should have a gap year after they graduated high school for working or visiting some places, others argue not. I would look at its advantages and disadvantages.

It is said that the gap year helps the young because of these reasons. Firstly, taking a job or traveling would support young people to have more knowledge in various aspects than people who do not take them, thus these experiences would be precious weapons for the younger to defeat their competitors in taking a new job or in competitions. Secondly, the gap year would be a chance for young people to do what they want and find out themselves so that they could choose easily which a university suited for them. For example, students who choose a gap year after graduating high school commonly know exactly what they want, who they want to be in the future. Thirdly, taking a non-schooling year gives people to relax and enjoy their lives.

However, a coin has two sides, the gap year would take some of the valuable opportunities in student's study time. For example, if people start studying at the university after graduating high school, they would study more knowledge than others and also finish their studies time earlier. In addition, it is quitely time- consuming and money wasting that taking a gap year while other people are trying to study hard at the university.

In conclusion, having a gap year between finishing high school and starting the university studies takes both plus points and minus points.