In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this?

Nowadays, in this competitive world, circumstance of continuing graduation after high school is one of the most prominent challenges for educational planners. There are several significant debates about beneficial and detrimental effects of one year distance between high school and university among social experts.

Some social researchers are unanimous in profitable consequences of this gap. They insist that in this year young students can increase their experiences by traveling or work undoubtedly. Comprehensive investigations in U.S. illustrated that in more than two third of cases, students` motivation and innovation for continuing education increased sharply. Actually, by passing this period they can distinguish their interests for future education properly. Most of social experts believe that during this landmark year majority of students discover their fundamental talents to improve and distribute them. According to recent reports in some famous universities in England, more than 60% of students decided to alter their previous choice in graduation after this distance and it made them more successful in new way.

On the other hand some educational planners argue that because of creating delay, this phenomenon caused to decreasing students` efficiency in their university years. They emphasize that in most countries students commence their graduation immediately after their high school. These experts think that although one year gap has some available results for students, they can`t rectify that missed year in their future education. Recent researches in undeveloped countries in Asia revealed that because of the lack of appropriate plans for this year after high school, the number of students who were reluctant to continue their education grew slightly after accomplishment of this idea in these countries.

In conclusion, devising some applicable plans for students in the year between high school and university leads some useful results for them. In my point of view, pursuing some strategic attitudes in this important year causes to increasing students` creative performance in their lifestyle.