In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

It’s true that many people believe that having a job or going to a trip before entering universities has many disadvantages. While their point of views make sense, I deem that to pause one year could have some positive effects on the oncoming higher education.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why some people disagree with the idea that to quit one year after high school. One of the major factors is that a gap year could possibly lead to a distraction from what the students are supposed to concentrate while studying. If the young people chose to work or travel before going to college, they would lose interest in study as the fresh experiences were far more exciting than school life. In addition, they will find it difficult to catch up the counterparts who continue their academic study without interruption. The other main reason is that the students have no income, so that they have to rely on their family’s financial support to afford a trip or to find a job.

On the other hand, I believe that the advantages of a gap year can’t not be outweighed by the drawbacks. Firstly, working in a team or travelling at different places can definitely broaden people’ eyesight and enrich the knowledge of the social custom. Secondly, it is obviously that the experience will be full of difficulties to be overcame and unexpected occasions to be adapted. For example, in order to be an adept of problem-solving, people need to learn how to interact with others, like team members or strangers, and to do utmost to build trust through sincerity. Finally, all the skills mentioned above can’t be emphasized too much, which are important to the further study and beneficial for their future career path.

In conclusion, although there are some negative effects of having a gap year, I think students could be encouraged to play different roles before completing their further study.