In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

In this competitive era, learning plays a paramount role in the holistic development of young people in terms of values, skills and many more, which is very imperative in consolidating the future of young people. However, some opine that young people should encourage to work and travel for a year before study of university. Thus, I am about to discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this view.

To commence with, the onus for the development of any nation is mostly on the young people, thereby they require certain pertinent skills, which make them capable and competent. Furthermore, an experience before study can prove to be a cornerstone for their success on account of manifold advantages. Firstly, work experience is way more important than theoretical knowledge, as it enables young people to cope with various unanticipated situation in a proper way. Secondly, young people can get an exposure of new things such as cultures, traditions, dialects and so on, by working before study which in turn expand their vision, which is again fruitful for them. In addition, work and travel before study make young people more independent and responsible, as they understand the importance of money and time, which they cannot learn from any book. For instance, one can mere know about swimming from books, but cannot know exactly about the methods of doing swimming, because one comprehends about it when he/she dives into the water.

However, every situation comes with certain disadvantages, which is similar in this case. Small gap between studies can be a devastating one for young people, therefore it can be horrendous for them to work or travel before joining university's study due to manifold reasons. Firstly, one needs consistency in education in order to reinforce his/her knowledge, hence if there will be a mini gap then it can later become hindrance for young people because young people may find themselves in a sceptical situation owing to temptation of money and many more. Secondly, university knowledge acts as a threshold for getting any practical knowledge, and hence one should first focus on academic knowledge, which assists someone to consolidate his/her knowledge on any topic.

In conclusion, I reckon that work and knowledge both play a key role for making young people’s fulcrum hence young people should equally pay heed on both these aspects in a best way. As someone said, "It is better to become master of one, then jack of all".