In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Upon graduating from high school, teenagers in some countries are urged to take a gap year before continuing to study at a university. Some youngsters will take a year break to travel while others tend to get jobs to gain more experiences. Although this new trend brings many benefits, some negative aspects will also be considered.

The option to take a year off straight after finishing high school is attractive for several reasons. Firstly, by travelling, young people will stand a good chance of broadening their horizons as well as creating memories of a lifetime. For example, students who travel to different places get a chance to mingle with different types of people and cultures and this may improve their knowledge and experience. Secondly, those who decide to find work could learn about the true value of money, and since they will likely be mature enough, they will be able to live independently on their own income. This may help them to obtain a lot of actual experience and skills in their chosen prospective profession.

On the other hand, I believe that there are particular serious drawbacks when taking a year off. One negative aspect of this trend is that most of the students are too young to travel by themselves and this might put them in more dangerous situations. Another advantage of this trend is that being a year behind academically might make students lose their good study habits and sense of discipline that they had when they were in a formal academic structure. Moreover, teenagers might find study is too bored and will cut it away since they think that they are making a lot of money.

To cut the nutshell, taking a gap year between high school and university has both positive and negative aspects, I believe that students who spend a year off would obtain a lot of real experience.