In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

It is widely acknowledged that people nowadays become more open-minded to stimulate their children to take a gap year before going to the universities. I wholly believe that this controversial issue encompasses both the benefits and drawbacks which will be explained in the essay below.

On the one hand, taking a gap year has an indispensable role in the perspective of many young people due to two root causes. The first fundamental reason is that young people will have a chance to expose to the cultural identity of various countries when they spend a year to travel. As a result, they not only can broaden the scope of their knowledge but it also helps them become more mature to enter the college with value skills. Secondly, some people have a tendency to look for a job in order that they attempt to gain a host of experiences from it that is essential for shaping their future career orientation. According to the analysis of many experts, they assert that the prime reason for firing employees today because they did not choose the right specialty which is accordance with their cognitive abilities.

On the other hand, in spite of several benefits of taking one-year break, there are still many limitations. The financial cost of this circumstance can be extremely pricey and most of the students cannot afford it. Although some students compensate for this expense by working and traveling at the same time, it still comprises many risks. Additionally, this situation may exert a negative influence because they will leave a year behind. For example, when all of their friends make strikes at the universities, young people who take one-year off may frustrated in the isolation.

To conclude, taking a gap year can result in the variety of benefits to young people’s understanding but I strongly believe that they should utilize this chance to gain experiences as well as diminish the dark side of this situation.