13/6/2015: With many problems of transport and accommodation in cities, some governments are encouraging businesses to move to rural areas. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is comprehensible that some local authorities commit to relocating the economic regions to rural areas because of several controversial issues from infrastructure and traffic overload in the inner cities. Although there are a handful of drawbacks in this case, I strongly claim that the advantages still surpass the disadvantages.

On the one hand, there are two prime reasons for the situation that governments should transfer economic areas from metropolises to the countryside. Firstly, accompanying with the prosperity of socio-economy, the mushrooming of many skyscrapers and buildings has become a problematic issue of nations. Therefore, it may pose a serious threat to the construction structure of the cities without the government’s attention. Secondly, citizens in big cities may feel frustrated due to the vigorous growth of vehicles such as private cars or mass transit. Hanoi perfectly exemplifies this circumstance, metropolitans have to suffer from traffic congestion everyday which leads to the recession of work quality.

On the other hand, in spite of the fact that this relocation may make a breakthrough in the improvement of urban traffic, there are still weaknesses in some aspects. One of them is that the politicians may invest a significant amount of money to implement this plan. As a result, the government budget will be the most vulnerable to financial burden because this campaign comprises a host of potential risks as well as the price is extremely exorbitant. Additionally, workers have to travel further distances than before and it may exert a negative effect to their working time. For instance, if people move too far to work, their personal time will be jeopardized which result in various issues such as stress or accidents. Consequently, these improvements will receive criticism for carrying out from both office workers and enterprises.

To conclude, many people are skeptical the effectiveness of transferring economic zones from inner cities to rural areas but I wholly believe that the benefits still outperform the drawbacks.