In some countries, young people do not take care of their elderly relatives. Instead they appoint trained professionals who take care of elderly. Is it positive or negative trend according to you?

In today’s modern world, owing to rapid changes in lifestyle, work patterns and social setup, young family members do not pay attention to older members of their family. They hire competent professionals for this purpose. However, this development is not very positive and creates social and cultural complications as discussed further.

On one hand, there are numerous reasons that youngsers must take care of the elderly members in family. Firstly, it is moral responsibility of youngsters to take care of older generation. In other words, giving blind eye to old people channelize coming generation to grow up with same understanding, consequently it gives birth to isolation in society which has dire effects on social structure. Secondly, older generation worked hard to raise and nurture the present generation so now it is turn of young generation to payback. Thus families break down at its negligence. Thirdly, elderly people feel rejected, lonely and also suffer from depression and other heath issues as well when off springs have no time for them. Furthermore, hired trained professionals are not family members so do not show the warmth to seniors.

On the paradoxical side, no doubt hiring qualified professionals also have some benefits despite of the drawbacks. To enumerate, they are with elders all the time and provide right treatment and proper diet to old people. What’s more, they prove life savior in case of emergency. Next, youngsters today travel or work in other cities for long period and are left with no other option than leaving trained professional in their absence to look after their parents and grandparents.

In the light of all facts one can conclude that, trained professionals may give competent service and can offer an alternative but it prime duty of youngsters in the family to look after their elders.