In some culture, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In many countries, parents and teachers always teach children that their dreams will come true if they are diligent enough. While this belief can encourage children to work hard, it may put extra stress on them under some circumstances. I would argue that children are able to achieve some things by working hard but definitely not everything.

To begin with, conveying the message that working hard plays a significant role in achievement has a positive influence on children. As the old saying says that no pain no gain, people need to struggle to have progress on most of the things. For instance, when students spend more time studying, it is highly possible that they can improve their academic performance. In this case, children could be motivated to work hard due to the relevance between efforts and effects. Therefore, it is beneficial to teach children that they have improved when they work harder.

To consider another side, there are various disadvantages if adults over-emphasize the importance of trying hard. People tend to blame themselves for not struggling enough when they could not gain what they have expected. However, in real life, success relies on not only diligence but also other factors, such as luck and timing, which cannot be controlled or predicted by human beings. Consequently, children may live under great pressure or even have some mental health issues. Thus, it is harmful to children to think that they always need to work harder otherwise unsuccess would be totally their fault.

In conclude, teaching children to do their best has productive results for their personal achievement. In the meantime, adults should keep it in mind that diligence is not the only matter, hence should not blame children for not trying hard enough all the time.