2. Genetic engineering is an important issue in society today. Some people think that it will improve people’s lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether the genetic modification should be used in many industries. While there are some harms bringing out with it, I believe that its benefits are far more important.

On the one hand, genetic engineering can be harmful especially for other animals and plants. Before one product released to the market and open for ordinary people, there are many tests and processes need to be done. More often than not, animal tests are always options for modifying genes codes or trying on new treatment in genetic aspects. However, people do not have the right to change other species’ engines when the outcomes are not clear, and the procedures are full of pains and tortures. For example, it is extremely cruel to transplant a human ear on the back of a mouse and then cut it off for scientific research.

On the hand, if genetic industries can be restricted by laws and rules, it can offer people’s life significant improvement. First and foremost, thanks to genetic modifications, agriculture has a huge development, the biggest production and various species, which can feed more human beings than ever with the lowest price in history. Pest-resistant, drought-resistant and frozen-resistant plants also benefit farmers with more stable harvests. Further, the new discoveries in medical treatments reduce patients’ pains and light hope for recovery from some fatal disease before. Genetic engineering also has dramatic contributions to anti-ageing researches.

In conclusion, the improvements form modifying genes outweigh the hazards so humans should continue studying in this area with cautions.