Giving aid to poorer countries has more negative effects than the positive effects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Globally, the issue of whether developed countries should support poorer countries has been a topic of discussion for many years. Some people think international aid brings more drawbacks, while this essay will argue that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

To begin with, the provision of international supports from other places enable the government in disadvantageous countries to pursue and maintain social stability. Increasing job opportunities and cheaper commodities would be available if well-developed countries provide financial support, medical help, or technical assistance to less-developed ones, where most residents hardly get rid of poverty. In other words,

Support provided by rich nations can meet the basic survival needs of impoverished people, thereby stabilising the whole area and preventing conflicts, wars and high crime rates. Thus, it is definitely beneficial for poor countries.

In addition, helping under-developed countries can also benefit richer countries through economic cooperation across the world. With the economic development brought by global aid, people in the developing countries will have more disposable savings, thereby stimulating the need for consumption and international business. This means that rich countries may explore a significantly huge potential market where they are able to make profits in a long run. In this case, it is worthwhile to aid poorer nations.

On the other hand, some people are concerned that underdeveloped countries may be difficult to achieve sustainable development since they are highly dependent on foreign nations. Under this circumstance, political leaders may have to make compromises and even give valuable national resources to their money providers because the government will be hardly functioning well without foreign supports.

In conclusion, I would argue that the overall effect of providing foreign aid is positive, despite the possibility that some countries may have no financial independence. Around the world, human beings will live in a better place if richer countries keep supporting poorer ones.