13. Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that all the majors at university should have equal numbers of boys and girls in the name of education equity. In my mind, this policy cannot achieve an ideal result and there are various methods to improve the education equality and quality.

To begin with, I understand why people ask for the same number of university enrollments for male and female students. In many subjects, such as mathematics, science and information technology, there are increasingly more boys than girls at universities worldwide. According to such an ‘unfair situation’ in the education area, some experts strongly advice universities offer more opportunities to girls. However, the fact is female students would like to study subjects like arts, language and teaching, which they truly enjoy learning, while the limited allocation would burden boys’ academic pressure. Enrolling half boys and half girls at university is a waste of chances and damaging one gender’s benefit.

Conversely, I think more enrollments should be given to students who come from a disadvantaged family rather than a certain gender. Nowadays, both girls and boys can access the same education system and have comparatively fair chances to entre high-level education if their family is able to pay the tuition fees. Problems in education are not about genders but considerably about students’ socioeconomic backgrounds. Only if universities can enrol more students from a low-income community with enough subsidy can narrate the education gap in society.

In conclusion, a hundred per cent of gender equality is not necessary, even is harmful, in university enrollment. Instead, giving more opportunities and assistance for the poor is a more effective way to improve high-level education.