Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The incredibly high frequency of traffic accidents has become one of the most significant social issues to be tackle. Some experts argue that governments can enforce strict laws to regulate dangerous driving, while other people suggest that the modification of drivers’ test and the road designs might play a greater role in reducing traffic accidents. This essay will discuss that governments need to make use of both measures to solve the problem.

To begin with, it is undeniable that stricter traffic laws can make a huge difference due to the high price that drivers might pay for driving offences. In many countries, people have to pay hundreds of dollars or even lose some points from their licenses when drivers break the traffic light or overspeed rules on the road. Although for some rich people, the money that costs for driving offences can be neglected, the points for their licenses cannot be ignored because they will be ineligible to drive after losing certain points. In this case, it is effective to encourage drivers to keep safety in mind.

However, punishments can only prevent some traffic accidents and I believe stricter training lessons and more reasonable road designs need to be used to deal with dangerous driving. According to statistics, more than half of the traffic accidents were caused by the drivers with insufficient driving skills and experience. Those skills and experience can be easily acquired through training and practising. If governments can modify the training system for drivers’ license, for example, prolonging the provisional license, the number of tragedies on the road will drop dramatically. On the other hand, the safety standards for road designing need to be upgraded so that there is no blind spot where accidents could happen often.

In conclusion, higher fees for driving offences can have some impact on decreasing traffic accidents and we also need other measures to solve the problem fundamentally.