Today some argue that school are no longer necessary because children can learn so much from the internet and be educated at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the era of information explosion based on the internet technologies, students can have access to a great quantity of educational resources via the internet, rather than attending traditional classes to gain knowledge. Some people believe that schools are unnecessary in recent times, while this essay will argue that online learning and homeschooling are not sufficient.

One disadvantageous effect of excessively relying on distance education is that it is difficult for young students to select correct facts from misleading contends. Everyone can post commons on social media or even create a website in which inappropriate things and made-up stories can be found by those who are learning from the internet. For instance, thousands of online researchers, especially young users, had been taught to take wrong actions that might compromise their health when the pandemic started. In this case, gaining knowledge from qualified teachers in traditional face-to-face classrooms would be a necessity for learners. This is not the only disadvantage.

Another adverse impact of online learning is that it may pose a threat to the improvement of students’ social skills. Even though home education is an efficient way for children to study from family members with their siblings, it also narrows their social circles and poses a negative influence on their relationship building. To be more specific, if students lose the platform of schools to learn how to communicate with peers and how to cooperate with teammates in teamwork, their communication skills and problem-solving skills will be weakened gradually. This will possibly produce an adverse impact on their future development in the workplace because they do not have the ability to get along well with their colleagues and partners.

In conclusion, the essay has argued that young people need schools to acquire high-quality knowledge and interact with their peers despite that those educational resources can be found online at home. Students around the world will improve their learning efficiency and have greater development opportunities if they can make use of the internet.