Some people today argue that schools are no longer necessary because children can learn so much from the internet and be educated at home.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Education has been playing a vital role in all societies for centuries. Nowadays, the internet provides rich and diverse sources of information for educational purposes for all categories of students, including school pupils. Some people believe, that traditional school studies can be replaced by self-studies at home. I strongly disagree with this opinion because discipline is required for this process as well as well-balanced program, which are hard to imply from the internet.

In order to obtain a good school background that would allow individual to be accepted by a university, they should have a lot of dedication and hardworking. Without these qualities, student will not be able to properly understand and process necessary information. Although, some pupils are disciplined enough, the majority of student cannot proceed education for more than a decade, therefore schools are playing a role of observer, which force people to study. For example, the ministory of education of Germany reported that educated at home students have significantly worse grades on qualification exams. In other words, schools aids youngsters to finish their primary degrees.

In addition to the above-mentioned phenomenon, schools implement well organized curriculum that is confirmed by a government. Moreover, this program is unique for all students across one country and allow them to be equal competitors after graduation. In contrast, the internet’s unified curriculum does not exist, which make planning and implementation of home studies hard, and the result knowledge and skills weak. For instance, according to the Guardian note, the rate of the young accepted to universities is smaller among self educated persons in the UK. Thus, only schools are able to provide balanced and complete program for primary studies.

In conclusion, I truly believe that schools provide better education than online studies, due to well developed curriculums and imposement of obligatory work.