Nowadays many people want to buy famous brands of clothes, cars and other items. What are the reasons for this? Do you think it is a positive or a negative development?

Private property has been playing a vital role in human interaction in all societies. Today, fancy clothes, popular vehicles and other items are highly desired by a number of individuals. In my opinion people pursue a social status, which can be boosted by owning famous brands. Moreover, I strongly believe that this is a bane to the society.

Nowaday, social status is highly dependent on wealthyness of a person, pushing people to obtain items from companies with recognizable name and to highlight its ownership. Therefore, numerous people want to buy a limited number of brands, making the demand on the market of fancy clothes and luxury cars exceeding the supply. This allows manufacturers to increase prices making them exorbitant. For example, the Volkswagen's report states that about sixty percent of their customers in Europe purches cars under Volkswagen brand rather than Skoda brand, which are the same but thirty percent cheaper. In other words, human beings abundantly spend their income on brands to highlight their social status.

However, due to above-mentioned reason, people do not spend their resources efficiently. Money, that was spent on overpriced clothes and cars can be potentially allocated to funding research and beating poverty. Since people can obtain the same number of goods for smaller prices, they can fund various charity fonds without any restrictions on their lifestyle. Nowadays, charity aids destitute individuals to finance their medical expences, builds houses for homeless people, funds numerous universities, etc. Possesing more resources allows charity fonds to make the Earth a better place for everyone.

In conclusion, people's will to support their status in a society entails inefficient waste of income, which can be alloted to charity.