The government should ban smoking in all public places even though this would restrict some other people s freedoms. Do you agree or disagree Give reasons for your answer.

Public authorities have been playing a significant role in human societies. Some people believe that smoking should be prohibited ( forbidden) in public areas even if citizens’ liberties would be limited. I strongly agree with this statement since I consider a human right of fresh air to be more valuable.

During smoking, people fill the air with a gas which can cause an indirect damage to nearby people’s health. Smokers are protected because most cigarettes have a special filter to secure it’s user from poisoning substances. However, people outside are more vulnerable since they do not clear air while breathing. According to recent studies, passive smokers are more susceptible to develop cancer due to impure air they inhale. In other words, people in public places who do not smoke absorb more toxins, that lead to their health issues.

Smokers also provide bigger expenses for urban environment maintenance, causing trash bin fire and producing more garbage on streets. People usually throw a burning cigarette in a trash can, which may entail a fire and a destroyed container that should be replaced. In addition, individuals tend to miss and leave butts on the ground, which requires an additional cleaning of public places. For example, Germany reported that its local senators have been able to reduce the amount of workers since public smoking became prohibited. Thus, cigarettes consumption outside private property enlarges local budgets, which are funded by non smokers as well.

In conclusion, I strongly agree with the restriction of public smoking because other people’s health and money are also involved without their permission.