The government should ban smoking in all public places, even though this would restrict some other people's freedoms.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer.

It is thought by some people the authorities should prohibit smoking in public places, while others suppose that this would place a restriction on ones’ personal freedoms. In my opinion, a smoking ban needs to consider many places such as offices, parks, and beaches because it is not good for human health as well it affects the productivity level of many employees.

Smoking is a major health risk, but still, people give different reasons for smoking most of these justifications are not very reasonable. Smokers have an increased chance of getting stomach cancer or ulcers. Smoking can weaken the muscle that controls the lower end of your gullet and allow acid from the stomach to travel in the wrong direction back up your gullet. Smoking is a significant risk factor for developing kidney cancer, and the more you smoke the greater the risk. For example, research has shown that if you regularly smoke 10 cigarettes a day, you are one and a half times more likely to develop kidney cancer compared with a non-smoker. Restrictions of smoking in public places are might be to reduce the risk of these diseases.

Nowadays smoke-free workplaces are encouraged to be implemented by the employers not solely because of health reasons but also because “the main reason for productivity loss due to the smoking in the workplace. This loss of productivity is contributed by employees having too many smoke breaks which causes numerous interruptions to the job at hand and therefore becoming inefficient. Due to this inefficiency, non-smokers have to work harder to compensate for the workload of smokers when they are on smoke breaks. Recent studies show that non-smokers complete any task faster than smokers more than 50% cases. Finally, banning smoking in offices is an effective step towards increasing employee productivity.

In conclusion, the prohibition of smoking in different public places is good for public health as well it significantly increases worker performance in workplaces.