Research into medical treatments are essential to improve health and fight disease.

Who do you think should fund this research: individuals, private companies or governments?

The quality of medicine has allways played a vital role in the societies wellbeing. However, the question regarding the appropriate source of funding for research in this area is highly debatable. This essay will discuss why private companies are the bad option for individuals and why authorities are the right choice.

On one hand, drug and tools manufacturers benefit from selling their products, which are able to fight various diseases. This means that the quality of final goods or services is essential to maximize their profits, that forces private companies to allot extra resources to improve their product. However, additional expences on research entail a rise of prices, which are covered by citizens that are a final consumers. For example, according to the US Department of statistics, about 10 per cent of americans went bankrupt because of unaffordable healthcare invoices. In other words, when medicine is developed on private funds, ordinary people pay any improvement through their bills to hispitals, pharmacies, etc, which decreases the overal living standards of citizens.

Another approach that is implemented in socialist countries in Europe is a public funding of most scientific efforts in the field of the drug discovery and the special equipment invention. Since authorities are capable to manage financial flows of an entire society through taxation, their financial participation in the field of medicine is significantly more efficient. Hence, prices of final healthcare bills for people are notably smaller. For instance, the market of medical services of Germany is twice smaller per capita than the corresponding market of the US with shorter life length expectancy in America. Thus, the government ought to render full assistance to organisations that are involved in the development of any aspect of human health.

In conclusion, this essay highlighted the main reasons for private capital in medicine to be the bane for a society and why senators should play the major role in this.