Many believe that there should be few restrictions on the office buildings and homes that people can build in cities while others think the designs should be limited.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Architecture has been one of the most important aspects of cultures in most societies. However, nowadays, there is no consensus on the amount of regulation on building apperance. Some people think that this area should be less controlled, while the others consider restrictions to be beneficial for common aesthtetics of cities. Although, unified design of buildings is beneficial in terms of convenience and visual pleasure, I truly believe that property owners have a right to do anything with their homes or offices.

From one side, the absence of regulations in building industry entails that the number of assets would be created with awful design that would annoy or even disturb nearby habitants. Therefore, the mental health of a person can be injured just by poor apperance of buildings that he or she see every day. Moreover, offices with arbitrary plans can be inconvenient in terms of navigation and orientation. For instance, the research of the Univercity of Cambridge showed, that citizens of old european towns with unified ancent designs are happier in average, than people from modern cities with diverse architecture. Thus, regulations in this area improve mental state of human beings that live or work nearby.

But from the other side, such restrictions violate property owners rights, which are considered to be among the primary rights in all western societies. Since, a person that possess a land or a building does not interfear with others directly, they do not have a moral justification to forbid anythig because they dislike something. In other words, buildings’ owners’ rights are prioritized over inhabitants’ rights.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion, that regardless of benefits of regulations in architecture to a society, the rights of owners are superior.