In many major cities of the world, you will find large public buildings, both new and old. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of such buildings.

How important is it for a country to construct impressive public buildings when houses are want is really required?

Architecture has always been a crucial aspect of any culture. A number of large cities on the planet have old-fashioned constructions as well as brand new buildings. Both of these styles has its pros and cons that may influence the impression on public authorities, which is an important issue for most of them.

The major benefit for the society from historical buildings is the culture that is preserved in the architecture. This means that the modern generation is able to perceive a better understanding of its predecessors' preferences in visual arts. However, such buildings are usually less functional, their plans are less convenient for visitors, and they require extra attention to the conditions. For example, the crash of the tower in London was a result of bad maintenance of it, that was deteriorated by the limited public budget. Thus, additional financial expenses on historical buildings is a price for culture preservation.

On the other hand, new constructions have fewer aesthetics, in contrast to old ones. Moreover, most of the governments tend to reduce their allocations on public buildings, making their appearance worse. Hence, local budgets are available for other expenses, such as social security or public transport. According to the report of the Munich city administration, the maintenance of historical objects costs twice more than the construction of new ones. In other words, low price on new buildings entails less attractive outlook of the city.

In conclusion, both types of constructions have some benefits and drawbacks. The balance between them is the key concern of authorities.