The number of old people is increasing in many countries. Some people think this causes problems, whilst other people think that old people have an important role to play.

Discuss both views

Old people have been playing a vital role in our society for centuries. Some individuals believe that the increasing number of the retired entails many issues, while the others consider them as an essential part of our lives. This essay will discuss arguments that support both viewpoints.

On one hand, humans after retirement require additional medical care and financial aid. Since their personal incomings are usually too low to provide an appropriate healthcare, the government ought to render old people. Therefore, federal budget enlargement is necessary, meaning that taxation is also to be increased. For example, about ten percent of Germany’s taxes are spend for pensions, making social security of the old exorbitantly expensive for tax payers. Thus, the economy cannot be boosted on its maximum potential while a lot of people need to be supported.

On the other hand, retired people have lived much longer than others and have obtained a valuable experience that they can share. During their lives, humans face a huge number of challenges, which solving makes them wiser and providing with new knowledge. Hence, human beings that live longer are often have more expertise in various areas. For instance, most of presidents on the planet are usually much older than average citizen because they are more experienced. In other words, the old are a great source of information that society must not ignore.

In conclusion, retired people require many financial resourses causing problems to the economy. However, they are a rich source of necessary knowledge.